Note: If you see this text you use a browser which does not support usual Web-standards. Therefore the design of Media Art Net will not display correctly. Contents are nevertheless provided. For greatest possible comfort and full functionality you should use one of the recommended browsers.
Hiller, Lejaren; Isaacson, Leonard «Illiac Suite»
Hiller, Lejaren; Isaacson, Leonard, «Illiac Suite» Quartet No. 4 for strings, 1957
© Hiller, Lejaren; Isaacson, Leonard


Relevant passages:

icon: authorGolo Föllmer «Audio Art»

Works by Hiller, Lejaren; Isaacson, Leonard:

Illiac Suite: Quartet No. 4 for strings

United States | 18' 32" | Participants: Composition String Quartet of the University of Illinois, William Mullen, David Rosenboom, Theodore Lucas, Lee Duckles | Edition / Production: Wergo Schallplatten, Mainz

 Hiller, Lejaren; Isaacson, Leonard

born 1924, died 1994. Studied chemistry at Princeton University (1947 Ph.D.) and music at the University of Illinois, Urbana (1958 M.Mus.) with Roger Sessions and Milton Babbitt; in the context of his chemical research and with the help of the mainframe computer «ILLICA I» at the University of Illinois, he achieved notoriety with his computer algorythm for the synthetic musical notation «Illiac Suite» in collaboration with L. Isaacson (1959). Later, other algorythmic compositions mix musical styles and epochs.